Vedic Astrology

Vedic Astrology is an ancient metaphysical science from India.  Vedic Astology uses nine planets in its analysis of an astrological reading.  Each planet is stronger or weaker in one’s natal astrological chart, either promoting some of our karma (seed tendencies, or samskaras), or creating challenges for us.

The planets emit astrological energy which “waters’ the seeds of our karma and causes them to sprout at specific times throughout our life.  Some of “sprouts” can be beneficial, and some can cause us challenges.  The purpose of the use of Vedic gemstones is to help promote the strength of planets beneficial to us as well as to mitigate the harmful effects of challenging karma.

The  planets listed below are the ones we know of minus Neptune and Pluto which are not considered in the Vedic Astrology tradition.  The Vedic planets included that one may not be aware of are Rahu and Ketu, which are not physical planets but rather points of energy where eclipses occur.  The Sanskrit names of the planets are listed beside the English name. 

The Sun (Surya)
The Sun is representative of our soul, of who we are, how we think of ourselves and how we project ourselves to the outer world.  The gemstones recommended to strengthen the Sun are: Ruby, Red Spinel and Red Garnet.


The Moon (Chandra)
The Moon primarily represents our emotions.  While the Sun is an indicator of our outer life, the Moon represents how we feel about ourselves.  The gemstones recommended for the Moon are Pearl and Moonstone.


Jupiter (Guru or Brihaspati)
Jupiter is considered the “Great Benefic” in Vedic Astrology.   It is a planet of good fortune and many feel blessed to have a strong Jupiter in their lives.  The gemstones recommended for Jupiter are Yellow Sapphire and Yellow Topaz.


Mars (Kuja or Mangala)
Mars is the planet of energy, a strong indicator of how strongly active we are.  Do we push ahead with strength, tempered with humility, or do we strive without regard of our impact of others and circumstances?  The gemstone recommended for Mars is Red Coral.


Saturn (Sani)
Saturn is a misunderstood planet.  Considered the “Great Malefic” in Vedic Astrology, Saturn does have a tendency to be a rascal, to create limitations and obstacles.  However it’s also true that no one gets anything done well in life without Saturn’s influence.  Saturn is a planet of structure, organization and responsibility.  The gemstones recommended for Saturn are Blue Sapphire and Amethyst.

Venus (Shukra)
The gemstones recommended for Venus are Diamond, White Sapphire and White Zircon.


Mercury is a planet of intelligence and creativity.  The gemstones recommended for Mercury are Emerald, Green Tourmaline and Peridot.


The gemstone recommended for Rahu is Hessonite Garnet.


The gemstone for Ketu is Chrysoberyl Cats-Eye.


Vedic Astrology – Further Research
If this information interests you and would like to study Vedic Astrology, Healing Gems can highly recommend an online college: The American College of Vedic Astrology @